Current Faves: Jan 4-10

Happy 2015! Unfortunately, I’ve started mine in a bit of a musical rut… Here’s some rediscoveries and current faves.

(“Judith with the Head of Holofernes” – Cristofano Allori, c. 1613)

1. Piledriver Waltz – Arctic Monkeys

Definitely in my top 5 all time favourite Arctic Monkeys songs. Super sweet, super dreamy, one of those tracks that makes my life feel like a movie (ultimate goal with any song, is it not?).

2. Norwegian Wood – The Beatles

My relationship with the Beatles is a pretty tumultuous one, but nevertheless, Rubber Soul always stands out as my favourite album. I also read a lot of Haruki Murakami, so there’s just no way I can’t love this song.

3. Satisfaction – Carl Dawkins

I’d heard this song a few times before, but the moment I really fell in love was when it was featured in the ‘A Brave New Love’ video series by the Kooples. This is my favourite clip – must see!!

4. Really Love – D’Angelo

Of course, I added this song again… It’s such a classic, don’t really see how I could get sick of it any time soon.

5. The Hunter – Slaves

Surprise, surprise, I used to be suuuuper into punk music. I’m also super into adorable, mod British boys, so when I saw this Fred Perry sponsored interview, I knew I could get down with Slaves. They just released the music video for ‘The Hunter’ and it’s awesome.

6. Blue – Uzi

Valley boy rap over a classic 90s track? I’m so down. Uzi’s accent totally cracks me up, and the music video is juuuust the right amount of fuckboi.

7. And The Beat Goes On – The Whispers

Who doesn’t love the Whispers?! Such a solid disco track, definitely a classic in my books. Also – check out the Pablo J and the Lobsterettes rework. It’s a relatively subtle electro rework, so the disco integrity is definitely not lost (also, it has a cool music video lolol).

8. Moaning Lisa Smile – Wolf Alice

This is TOTALLY unlike anything I’ve listened to in the past two years… but I’m so down. Maybe it’s just because they’re from North London and I’m a total Anglophile, but this grunge-rock track has been my go-to for the past few days. Once again, this is a Fred Perry find.

9. Everywhere – Fleetwood Mac

This has totally been the week of Fleetwood Mac for me. There’s something so unassumingly cool about the band, and this song never fails to make me feel happy.

10. Workinonit – J Dilla

I finally bought Donuts!!! After years of downloading the odd Dilla track, I’ve finally begun to commit. Suuuuch a classic album, such a legend. So innovative, absolute genius.

11. Prototype – Outkast

This is probably my favourite song ever (pretty sure I’ve posted it before…). Such a beautifully simple funk song, always reminds me of cruising down DeKalb Ave back in Atlanta…

12. Bam Bam – Sister Nancy

This is my morning song. Nothing feels cooler than waking up, making a cup of coffee, and jammin out naked to this ultimate classic.

13. Blue Denim – Stevie Nicks

Brought on my a combination of my Fleetwood Mac obsession and the new promo vid for Alexa Chung x AG Jeans, this has been a huge hit for me this week. Makes me feel a lot more free spirited than I actually am…

14. Only One – Kanye West & Paul McCartney

This wouldn’t upload to 8tracks so it’s not on the playlist, but this has been another favourite of mine. Such a beautiful song with such a beautiful story behind it.

Enjoy~

x Syd

Leave a Reply

