Weak Messages Create Bad Situations

I only recently came across British artist David Shrigley as I was (yet again) scouring for photos of the magnificently reworked Sketch London dining room. I came for the 50 shades of pink, scalloped chairs, and marble chevron floors, but I stayed for the continuous strip of comical sketches that works its way along the two side walls.

Gallery_033_1400_831_c1

A quick google search left me speechless at the sheer quantity and individual ingenuity of every single drawing Shrigley puts forth. The images are incredibly simple, hilarious, and yet seem to say so much about modern humanity. I can only imagine the encompassing effect of being confronted by so many of these “unfortunate” truths at once, but to my dismay, the night I had planned to go to Sketch back in June was thwarted by an abrupt Cartier incident… (long story). Thankfully, the artist has published a tonnnn of books, including a recently released manifesto, so if Amazon Canada ever decides to get its shit together, I’ll have my fill in no time.

1080 DAVID-SHRIGLEY_36-468x660 shrigley802 yl_26-6-11_046

A few faves…

photo (3)

My own lil Shrigley collection. Shoutout to ratchet wall art…

To anyone in Melbourne, there’s a free Shrigley exhibit at the NGV so please go take pictures for me! (I’ve been tracking the instagram tag religiously…)

xo, Syd

One thought on “Weak Messages Create Bad Situations

Leave a Reply

