NYC in Pictures

For those of you who didn’t know – probably all, seeing as I update this blog about twice a year (sorry) – my parents recently left Atlanta and moved to New York City, thus making it my new “home”(?). I’ve been hanging out here for about two weeks, somewhat alone as most of my friends are back home for the holidays, and while it’s been pretty quiet it’s also been a good opportunity to further define my favourite spots.

photo 1

Dumbo ~street art~, gotta get acquainted with the new hood (recs are definitely Brooklyn Roasting for coffee, powerHouse books for a new read, baugettes at Almondines, dinner at AlMar)

photo 5

Contemporary exhibit on the top floor of MoMA – really awesome, must-see. Also the Matisse cutouts exhibit kicked ass but I’m super paranoid about gallery photography rules and didn’t sneak any pics 😦

photo 5

Richter detail – always an inspiration

photo 2

photo 3

Working on my art humour…

photo 4

Robert Gober – (I kind of want to use this as the wallpaper in a future powder room??)

photo 1

Robert Gober exhibit was holy shit amazing (not my pic sorry though oops…)

photo 3

Some cutlery at ABC off Union Square – I’m in love and so tempted to buy

photo 1

ABC detail – want to do this once I actually own stairs lol

photo 4

Tom Dixon home-wares – flawless. Ended up buying a gold Tom Dixon ruler for $20 just to buy into the beauty lol

photo 2

Some Christmas gifts – @aroma x Monocle diffuser // Dyptique candle in Ambre (my middle name and appropriately, favourite scent)

photo 3

Down under the Brooklyn Bridge – super touristy spot but one of my fave walking spots

photo 2 photo 4 photo 5

Dover Street Market – more like a museum than a clothing store, awesome spot to see what quality user experience feels like (although some of the staff comes off like pretentious VFILES graduates sorry not sorry). Also I touched a $23,000 Alaïa coat so I can now die knowing true luxury.

photo 1

Moscot flagship/HQ at 6th and 14th. Classic NYC brand and a good example of strong but non-intrusive branding.

Back to ATL tomorrow!

xo, Syd

One thought on “NYC in Pictures

Leave a Reply

