Current Faves March 10-16

SUMMER IS NEARLY HERE! Can we all just quickly celebrate the end of Winter and thus, the reintroduction of fun music!

1. Grammy – Purity Ring

I’m definitely not a Soulja Boy fan (not really a Purity Ring fan, either, for that matter) but this cover is amazing. It’s so cute and fun and upbeat and definitely worth checking out.

2. Always – Jahan Lennon

I’m very clearly a HUGE Mad Decent/Diplo fan, so of course I’m going to love the label’s only ‘Indie’ artist. This song is great, perfect for drivin’ around in the Summer.

3. Hanging On The Telephone – The Nerves

I watched the film ‘Electrick Children’ this past weekend, and I’m in love. The film is very good (definitely worth watching) but the soundtrack is incredible. This song is more or less the theme song, and after hearing it in context with the film, I’m obsessed.

4. Diane Young – Vampire Weekend

I had a pretty unhealthy obsession with Vampire Weekend about 3 years ago, so it’s actually pretty weird for me to finally be listening to them again! So far I’ve only heard this song off of their new album, but I really like the new direction they’re taking! It’s still pretty surf-pop-y but it’s definitely got a more experimental edge.

5. Gorgeous – Kanye West ft. Kid Cudi

Let me just start by saying that Kanye West deserves all the hype he’s gotten. I’m not hugely into rap, but even a novice like me can tell that he makes excellent music that’s super innovative.

6. Boy Oh Boy – Diplo & GTA

HOLY SHIT. I can not say enough about how much I love this song. I’ve been in a pretty terrible mood the past few days but this song alone can pick me up and immediately make me want to dance. The Missy Elliot sample is perfect, and the transitions are flawless. Good job, Lord Diplo ❤

7. Jah No Partial (The Reef Remix) – Major Lazer

I’ve had this song for a while but when I listened to it in my car for the first time, oh. My. God. The bass is incredible, and heavy enough to make for an actual physical experience. P.S. How excited am I for the new album?! The Ezra Koenig/Major Lazer collaboration looks especially intriguing!

8. A Community Service Announcement – Jonathan Boulet

(Please ignore what’s posted in the 8tracks, couldn’t find the actual song)

An old Indie favourite that never fails to feel epic when I listen to it. Definitely deserves to be the soundtrack of some kind of inspiring montages.

9. Mirrors – Justin Timberlake

All hail Justin. I’m not in love with the new album so far, but this is definitely (in my opinion) his strongest track. It’s got the same insane romance that his past hits include with some really cool audio elements.

10. Mykonos – Fleet Foxes

Another old favourite. Songs like this honestly make me want to abandon civilized life and move to the Appalachia’s and live amongst the trees (kind of) (not really) (I still like the song).

xo, Syd

ALSO – Get excited for new Major Lazer, Strokes, and Phoenix this month!

Leave a Reply

