Inspired by Life: London

So as I briefly hinted in the last post, I spent my Spring Break in beautiful London, England, rather than the typical beach trip. I’ve always been more of a city girl (I spent 4 years in Hong Kong during primary and middle school, and been in love with the cosmopolitan ever since) so deciding on the seemingly unusual destination was a no brainer. One of my good friends has lived there for the past year, so we had a great time tromping around all corners of the city.

Being there really made me realize one thing in particular: I adore the European sensibility. I hadn’t been to Europe since my last trip to London 3 years ago, and I loved relearning the joy that comes with sitting at a corner cafe with a cigarette and a cappuccino, or having afternoon cocktails after a long day of shopping. I wasn’t entirely keen on the typical ‘tourist-y’ things, so instead we spent our days exploring luxe landmarks; Liberty, Selfridges, Harvey Nichols and Harrods included. As a total clothing addict, these department stores are basically art galleries to me, and despite the fact that I’ll never be able to afford a smidgen of what I want, being surrounded by beautiful things is satisfying enough.

Screen Shot 2013-03-12 at 4.29.39 PM

 

Luckily for me, I did manage to pick up one thing in Selfridges. Acne has been my favourite brand for just about a year now, so it was pretty obviously my first choice when it came to getting a Prom dress. I got extremely lucky and managed to catch the new collection the day after it came out in stores, and found (what I think is) the perfect dress. It’s simple, understated, and classic, it shows off the female figure without being vulgar, and it’s something I will quite literally have for years and years and years to come.

acne - dressxo, Syd

 

Leave a Reply

