Inspired by Life: Concert Wear

This past Friday, the electronic duo Major Lazer stopped by Atlanta, and seeing as producer Diplo is the light of my life, I had to check it out. I was in a pretty awful mood, and terribly jetlagged from London (I’ll save this for a later post) but all in all, it was still one of the most energetic nights of my life.

Concerts are a tricky thing for me, mainly because I hate impracticality and questions like “Where should I put my purse?” or “What do I do if it’s freezing outside but hot inside?” terrify me. Fortunately, I think I’ve had enough experience being shoved amongst hundreds of other sweaty concert goers to know what works and what doesn’t.

Screen Shot 2013-03-11 at 4.40.36 PM1. Be Comfortable. Concerts – depending on the genre – are usually the only place where all rules of acceptable clothing go out the wall. Girls show up in next to nothing, and guys think that tank tops are acceptable shirts for the middle of January. I’m not really one who gets anything from receiving attention to my body, but at the same time, I have moments when booty shorts and crop tops seem most appealing. My first suggestion is wear what you’re comfortable in, whether thats a bra and shorts or jeans and a T-shirt. If you’re constantly thinking about either covering up or stripping down, rather than focusing on the experience, it clearly wasn’t worth conforming to what those around you are wearing.

2. Be Practical. I hate being responsible for anything when I’m in such a crowded area, so my main rule is pockets, pockets, pockets. If it’s Winter, a cool pair of jeans or trousers are my go-to, as I can usually fit my phone, cash and keys easily into the pockets. Shorts are the obvious Summer choice, and I’d even wear a pair under shorter, looser fitting dresses for added storage and potential modesty. If you’re in desperate need of a bag, a backpack is definitely the way to go. As long as you’re not the douche with the giant hiking pack, a backpack will allow almost complete mobility with only minor impracticality. Luckily, we live in a day and age where backpack designs are borderline breathtaking (note the two examples above, both of which I’m obsessed with). Similarly, make sure you’re wearing comfortable shoes that are durable enough not to fall apart or allow your feet to feel the hundreds of people that will inevitably step on them. I recommend a cool pair of sneakers.

3. Be fun. Like I said, concerts are almost the single place where society holds no magnifying glass to how to present yourself. So, if there are crazy colours or trends you’d never be daring enough to wear in real life, this is the time to try them out! Bright colours are a must, whether they’re on your clothes, accessories, nails or makeup. Been dying to try those rhinestone fake lashes? That lavender lipstick? Do it! As long as you’re comfortable and feel like yourself, there’s no shame in being a little extravagant. My only caution would be the hairstyle. If you have short hair, you’re in the clear, but concerts can be a sweaty hell if there’s masses of long hair clinging to your neck (note back to tip #2). Buns and ponytails are ideal, but don’t be afraid to try out that new spiked headband or rhinestone clip.

For a little taste of my Major Lazer experience, check out this clip of Diplo rolling around the crowd in a plastic bubble. 🙂

xo, Syd

 

Leave a Reply

