Geometric Drama

As Molly mentioned in her last post (Androgynous Ensemble), we’ve got homecoming coming up this month. I’m really not a ‘school dance’ type person, but I love dressing up and I’ll take literally any opportunity to do so. I’ve been thinking a lot about how I can ‘wow’ people this year, but when it comes down to it, picking the perfect formal dress is really about sticking to what you love, and what you feel comfortable in. For me, that’s something black and minimalistic with intriguing details.

Screen Shot 2013-01-14 at 5.05.28 PM

 

Unfortunately for me, the designers who best pull off this ultramodern design are QUITE out of my price range (think Haider Ackermann, Calvin Klein, Sophie Theallet, Alexander Wang, etc.). I find that oftentimes, more affordable brands think that the priority is to make clothes that are trendy and over designed, rather than focus on quality – basically why my taste is dreadfully expensive – but I have managed to find a few examples of simple dresses that fit the criteria, but still don’t break the bank.

Sabo Skirt Cage Neck Dress – $48

High Strung Skater Dress – $78

Cross My Heart Dress – $48

Crossfire Cutout Dress – $58 

Dare You Dress – $178

Most of the above dresses are from Nasty Gal, which I tend to find cheap looking, but the key is to stick to black – let the design do the talking – and keep accessories minimal. In terms of shoes, I always love a good juxtaposition (I wore converse to every formal event I attended last year) but a great heel works in every situation. I find solid coloured pumps so boring considering all the great shoes out there, so try to find something with a good combination of practicality and interest.

Vamp Shoe with Studded Heel – $79.99

Tilda Platform – $165

Soiree Platform – $120

Katrina Stud Pump – $118

xo, Syd

 

Leave a Reply

